AdRef:PU7330

The Port of Point Lisas is a multipurpose cargo facility operating on a 24/7 basis. With its six (6) commercial berths (Nos. 1, 1A, 2, 3, 4 and 5), the Port handles a wide range of traffic including dry and liquid bulks, containers, general cargo and breakbulk servicing both the individual and business sectors alike.

The Port also has expertise in handling project cargo, mainly for new plants on the adjacent Industrial Estate.

The Port is strategically located on the west central coast of Trinidad, with connections to major shipping routes. Trinidad lies about 20 km north of Venezuela and its location between North and South America is convenient for major shipping routes.

Vessels approach Point Lisas via the Savonetta Channel, 1.75 nautical miles long and 152 metres wide, with a dredged depth of 2.8 metres. Turning basins are 500 metres and 300 metres in diameter. Both have been dredged to 12.8 metres. True course is 052.25°.

The Port can accommodate vessels up to 75,000 dwt and 245 metres in length at its deepest industrial quays.

AdRef:MR3025

Key Information

Port Specification

Berth 1 Accommodates vessels up to 25 metres. Maximum draught 4.5 metres. Handles general cargo, breakbulk cargo and ro-ro from barges.

Berth 1A Accommodates vessels up to 100 metres. Maximum draught 6.0 metres. Handles general cargo, breakbulk cargo, lo-lo and ro-ro.

Berth 2 Accommodates vessels up to 110 metres. Maximum draught 5.0 metres. Handles general cargo, breakbulk cargo, lo-lo and ro-ro.

Berth 3 Accommodates vessels up to 135 metres. Maximum draught 8.0 metres. Handles containers, general cargo, breakbulk cargo lo-lo and ro-ro.

Berth 4 Accommodates vessels up to 170 metres. Maximum draught 11.59 metres. Handles containers, general cargo, breakbulk cargo, lo-lo and ro-ro.

Berth 5 Accommodates vessels up to 200 metres. Maximum draught 11.59 metres. Handles containers, general cargo, breakbulk cargo and is equipped with two Ship-to-Shore gantries
(Post-Panamax).

Within the harbour there are a number of special terminals for handling anhydrous ammonia, methanol, urea, base oil and iron and steel products.

Savonetta Pier I North Dock Length 115 metres. Alongside depth is 7 metres Accommodates vessels up to draught of 6.3 metres.

Savonetta Pier I South Dock Length 310 metres. Accommodates vessels
up to 240 metres or urea vessels of 182 to 184 metres in length. Alongside depth is 12.8 metres, with a maximum draught of 11.59 metres. Handles exports of methanol, ammonia and urea.

Savonetta North Dock Length Accommodates vessels up to 230 metres. Savonetta Pier II North Dock Length 312 metres. Accommodates vessels up to 230 metres depth is 12.8 metres, allowing a maximum draught of 11.59 metres. Handles exports of methanol and ammonia.

Savonetta Pier II South Dock Length 230 metres. Accommodates vessels up to 190 metres. Alongside depth is 12.8 metres, allowing a maximum draught of 11.59 metres. Handles exports of methanol and ammonia.

Savonetta Pier III Dock Length 500 metres. Accommodates vessels up to 245 metres, alongside depth 12.8 metres allowing a maximum draught of 11.59 metres.Handles imports of iron ore and exports of methanol DR, urea ammonia nitrate.

Savonetta Pier IV Dock Length 380 metres. Accommodates vessels up to 245 metres. Alongside depth 12.8 metres, allowing a maximum draught of 11.59 metres.Handles imports of grains and aggregates and exports of methanol, ammonia and iron ore.

Mittal Dock length is 407 metres with an alongside depth of 12.8 metres, allowing a maximum draught of 11.59 metres.

This facility has two mounted crane hopper units and handles imports of iron ore, coke, coal, limestone and exports of DRI, steel coils, steel billets and iron ore fines. This dock is currently out of commission.

Anchorages  | Inbound vessels
10°23.5’N, 61°31.2’ W and 10°24’ N, 61°32.2’ W.

Outbound vessels
10°22.5’ N, 61°31.2’ W and 10°22’ N, 61°30.2’W.

Board and Managment

Chairman

Mr Ian R H Atherly

Board of Directors

Mr Haroon Fyzool Awardy
(Deputy Chairman)

Mr Ibn Llama de Leon

Mr Charles Percy

Mr Prakash Ramnarine

Dr Dale Sookoo

President

Mr Ernest Ashley Taylor
Tel: +868 636 2201
Email: ataylor@plipdeco.com

Vice President - Business Services

Mr Niegel Subiah
Tel: +868 636 2201
Email: nsubiah@plipdeco.com

Vice President - Technical Services

Mr Averne Pantin
Tel: +868 636 2201
Email: apantin@plipdeco.com

Vice President - Port Operations

Mr Harold Ragbir
Tel: tel:+868 636 2201
Email: hragbir@plipdeco.com

Corporate Secretary

Mr Michael Philip
Tel: +868 636 2201
Email: mphilip@plipdeco.com

Manager - Cargo Handling

Mr Clint Duncan
Tel: +868 636 2201 ext 2257
Email: cduncan@plipdeco.com

Manager - Estate and Facilities

Mrs Judy Beepath-Ramjohn
Tel: +868 636 2201 ext 3813
Email: jbeepath@plipdeco.com

Manager - Finance

Mrs Subrina Rampersad
Tel: +868 636 2201 ext 3331
Email: srampersad@plipdeco.com

Manager - Business Systems

Mrs Arlene Wallace-Romero
Tel: +868 636 2201 ext 3313
Email: aromero@plipdeco.com

Manager - Engineering and Maintenance

Mr Nicholas Sinanan
Tel: +868 636 2201 ext 2268
Email: nsinanan@plipdeco.com

Manager - Health, Safety and Environment

Mr Gerrel Traboulay
Tel: +868 636 2201 ext 2256
Email: gtraboulay@plipdeco.com

Manager - Human Resources and Industrial Relations

Mrs Susan Clerment-Williams
Tel: +868 636 2201 ext 3319
Email: swilliams@plipdeco.com

Manager - Information Technology

Mr Richard Ramcharan
Tel: +868 636 2201 ext 3411
Email: rramcharan@plipdeco.com

Chief Internal Auditor

Mrs Linda Nedd-Warrick
Tel: +868 636 2201 ext 3711
Email: lnedd-warrick@plipdeco.com

Junior Manager - LCL Warehouse

Mr Christopher Bharat
Tel: +868 636 2201 ext 4344
Email: cbharat@plipdeco.com

Manager - Legal Services

Ms Merle Jennifer Dennis
Tel: +868 636 2201 Ext. 3212
Email: mdennis@plipdeco.com

Manager - Marketing and Business Development

Ms Shelly Balkissoon
Tel: +868 636 2201 ext 3516
Email: sbalkissoon@plipdeco.com

Junior Manager - Planning

Mr Deoraj Mahase
Tel: +868 636 2201 ext 2299
Email: dmahase@plipdeco.com

Purchasing Manager

Mr Ian Murray
Tel: +868 636 2201 ext 3284
Email: imurray@plipdeco.com

Manager - Security Services

Mr Kevin Douglas
Tel: +868 636 2201 ext 2245
Email: kdouglas@plipdeco.com

Port Civil Engineer

Ms Tsai-Ann Lawrence
Tel: +868 636 2201 ext 2295
Email: tlawrence@plipdeco.com

Supervisor Corporate Communications

Ms Gizelle Crooks
Tel: +868 636 2201 ext 3512
Email: gcrooks@plipdeco.com

Want to advertise your organisation on the PLIPDECO Handbook website?

Let’s Talk